BookLovers of Bath

Beautiful books… for beautiful people…

In A Fugitive Season: A Sequence of Poems Robert Dana

In A Fugitive Season: A Sequence of Poems - Robert Dana

The Ohio University Press, 1980, Hardback in Dust Wrapper.
Condition: Very Good — in Good Dust Wrapper. Gently faded at the spine and onto the margins of the panels. Edges of the text block lightly spotted. Previous owners' inscription to the first blank. Text complete, clean and tight.

From the cover: “In a Fugitive Season is the long-awaited sixth volume of poetry by Robert Dana.

The poems in this collection are arranged in a sequence which explores the intensities, confusions, sudden insights brought on by the conflicts of passion and the pain of consciousness. The sequence forms a kind of love story, a tragi-comedy which plays itself out against a real world of power, poverty, and politics. While not so tightly bound to one another that they cannot be read separately, these poems nevertheless form an interwoven whole with recurrent figures and motifs.

In this volume, Dana shows that at the heart of all meaning is silence. The poems emerge from that silence, they struggle to create themselves, to overcome the reticence of meaning. Sometimes the language twists into grotesqueness or obscurity. At other times, it breaks into new formalities of speech, giving off fresh light.

In these poems, Robert Dana once again displays his mastery of language and imagery, his acuteness of observation and richness of invention, a precision and fullness of line, and an ear for music, that are breath-takingly fine.”

Size: 8¾" x 5¾". Green boards with Silver titling to the Spine. 52 pages.
In A Fugitive Season: A Sequence of Poems Robert Dana